Lakota Studies: Articles

First American Art

Studies in American Indian Literature

American Indian Past and Present

Winds of Change

Journal of American Indian Education

National Museum of the American Indian

Wicazo Sa

Tribal College

American Indian Experience  

Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password

Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of North America.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password

Unique source material from the Newberry Library. Collections include several types of primary sources through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Check out the Indian Newspapers database within this link!

 Archives Unbound: Overland Journeys

A critical bibliography of trails, exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West.

 Digital Public Library of America

Discover 36,687,547 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States across all subjects.

 Digital Library of South Dakota

The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota.

 ERIC

Indexed and full-text education literature and resources; essential for education researchers of all kinds.

 Indigenous Peoples

Political, social, and cultural history of North American Indigenous peoples from the 1500s-present.

 Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Full-text searchable newspaper images of selected newspapers.

 SD Historic Digital Collections

Features Journals of the state Senate and House, Compiled Codified Laws, reports of the Attorney General, Supreme Court Reports, all dating back to the late 19th century.