Skip to Main Content

Databases: Databases

Library Databases

 SOUTH DAKOTA STATE LIBRARY

At Home Access:

1) Click on link above 

2) Click on Electronic Resources

3) Scroll down and find most of the databases below from home!

 

Access Cinahl HERE! 

The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic - ABC-CLIO ...American Indian Experience  
Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of North America.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password
Unique source material from the Newberry Library. Collections include several types of primary sources through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Check out the Indian Newspapers database within this link!
JSTOR HomeJSTOR
JSTOR covers all subjects with an emphasis in business, math and science, history, and humanities. American Indian Quarterly, Oral History Review, Studies in American Indian Literature, Western History Quarterly, Wicazo Sa  are some of the titles specific to Lakota Studies. Access: Inside Library Only

Request articles by emailing sharonrjanis@olc.edu

Genealogy and Veteran Information

heritage quest tree iconHeritageQuest by Ancestry
Research family and local history; it includes census, military, and gravestone records with over 25,000 family and local history books; accessible from home through the SD State Library portal with your OLC library card.
ancestry leaf icon Ancestry® Library Edition
Research family and local history with access to thousands of collections from around the world, with immigration, military, birth, death, census records; store your family tree info through individual account
Access: Inside Library Only
fold three icon Fold3 by Ancestry
Genealogy information focusing upon US military records by war; accessible from home through the SD Library portal.
FamilySearch logo -- Use to make flyer for Family History add'l meeting. Combine this "tree" with circle picture scrap… | Family search, Genealogy, Family historyFamily Search Genealogy information from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints; no cost and requires your own registration but enables you to build on your research as well as save your work in your account.

Social Work

Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs - WikipediaJournal of Studies of Alcohol and Drugs

This multidisciplinary journal publishes research on all aspects of the use of, abuse of, and dependence on alcohol, illicit substances, and inhalants; tobacco use and dependence; and the misuse of prescription medication.

All Academic Subjects

icon for business source premier Business Source Premier

Market and company profile database.

icon for chilton library, green gears Chilton Library

Vehicle repair and diagrams; ASE test prep.

Credo Reference - Glen Ellyn Public LibraryCredo Reference

Biographies, Sciences, Humanities.

Access EBSCO Databases Here

icon for ebsco EBSCO MegaFILE

Multiple databases covering all subjects, including ERIC; extensive selection of e-books.

JSTOR HomeJSTOR

JSTOR covers all subjects with an emphasis in business, math and science, history, and humanities. American Indian Quarterly, Oral History Review, Studies in American Indian Literature, Western History Quarterly, Wicazo Sa  Access: Inside Library Only

icon for learning express library, bookshelf Learning Express Library

Practice tests for ACT, SAT, GED, Praxis and many more! Also check out the subject tutorials for K-12 and post high school. Create your own account to track your progress and practice exam scores.

logo for points of view reference centerPoints of View Reference Center

Create persuasive arguments and essays, understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills; this is an excellent source for subject brainstorming.

proquest logo ProQuest Research Library

Multiple subject research library for business, health and medicine, history, literature and language, science and technology, social sciences, and the arts.

Math and Science

MATH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

icon for green file, green paper with leafGreenFILE

Environmental Science resources.

Nature Article Search

Open access science news articles.

Science Direct

Open access peer-reviewed journals, articles, and book chapters.

USD Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network 

We can order any journal article you need through our partnership with USD! Click and scroll to the bottom of the page, then click Journals A-Z, and type in one word from the journal you're looking for to find what database it is in, contact us to order your articles!

Nursing

icon for ebsco Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

 

Nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. 

Lakota Studies

The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic - ABC-CLIO ...American Indian Experience  
Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of North America.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Email sharonrjanis@olc.edu for user id and password
Unique source material from the Newberry Library. Collections include several types of primary sources through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Check out the Indian Newspapers database within this link!
thumbnail for archives unbound Archives Unbound: Overland Journeys
A critical bibliography of trails, exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West.
logo for digital public library of america Digital Public Library of America

Discover 36,687,547 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States across all subjects.

logo for digital library of south dakota Digital Library of South Dakota
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota.
icon for ebsco ERIC

Indexed and full-text education literature and resources; essential for education researchers of all kinds.

thumbnail for Indigenous Peoples Indigenous Peoples
Political, social, and cultural history of North American Indigenous peoples from the 1500s-present.
thumbnail for ninteenth century newspapers Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text searchable newspaper images of selected newspapers.

South Dakota State Library SD Historic Digital Collections

Features Journals of the state Senate and House, Compiled Codified Laws, reports of the Attorney General, Supreme Court Reports, all dating back to the late 19th century.

Oglala Lakota College Woksape Tipi Library Physical Address: 3 Mile Creek Rd Kyle, SD 57752 Mailing Address: PO Box 310 Kyle, SD 57752 Phone: 1-(605)-455-6069