Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives : Home

Tanyan Yahi!

Woksape Tipi Archives is located within Woksape Tipi Library and is home to unique language, cultural, and historical materials specific to the Oyate Kin, primarily the Oceti Sakowin of the Titunwan Oyate, as well as the Northern Plains region. Materials include institutional records consisting of the administrative records of Oglala Lakota College and the Oglala Sioux Tribe; artifact collections; special collections: manuscripts, microforms, audiovisual, photographs, maps, blueprints, posters, and hard to find publications. These materials reflect knowledge and research from the origins of the Titunwan Oyate and the Oceti Sakowin to post IRA governance to current tribal administration.

What are our hours?

Due to campus-wide closure for COVID-19, the archives is also closed but does provide research support and service requests via email and phone.

Do I need an appointment?

If you have a specific research request, please let us know in advance so we can make the most of your visit. Email requests are welcome. The Researcher Request Form is accessible below.

How do I find materials?

All cataloged material can be found through our online catalog. We are continually processing our other collections. Current finding aids and  indexes to semi-processed collections can be found on the Browse our Collections subtab.

What can I check out? What can I copy?

All materials are for in-room use only. We have a large table for you to use for reading and sorting materials; you may copy/scan up to 10% of published material and you can request assistance for copies of unpublished materials. Fees are not typically charged to tribal members.

Does the Archives accept donations?

We thrive on the generosity of or donor community; donors range from community members and stakeholders to collectors to research faculty.  Please review our Collections Management Policy & Procedures for more information.

Oglala Lakota College Woksape Tipi Library Physical Address: 3 Mile Creek Rd Kyle, SD 57752 Mailing Address: PO Box 310 Kyle, SD 57752 Phone: 1-(605)-455-6069