American Indian Experience a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contact the library for the username and password to this database.
AncestryLibrary is of interest to those researching local history and family histories. Particularly interesting to our users is the U.S. Census of Indian Reservations from 1886-1937. Also Included are U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930, immigration records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, the family history library and more. This resource is only available at Wosape Tipi or the libraries in each of the college centers.
Digital Sanborn Maps are the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for 82 South Dakota communities from 1867 to 1970. Most of western South Dakota is not included.
e-Books contains a full text collection of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliff Notes. Click here for more info on EBSCOHost e-Books.
EBSCOHost links to six EBSCOHost databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Teacher Reference Center, and Regional Business News. Additions to this database are: Social Work Abstracts, Native American Archives, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and the Auto Repair Reference Center.
EBSCOHost MegaFILE (1965+) MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. New to this database is the Social Work Abstracts and the Native American Archives. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Facts on File: American Indian History Online Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage. Contact the library for the username and password to this database.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
HeritageQuest is Of interest to those researching local history and family histories. It includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930; 25,000+ family and local history books; the PERiodical Source Index/PERSIT (a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy & local history periodicals); and Revolutionary War Pension & Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.
InfoTrac links to six Gale InfoTrac databases: Discovering Collection (grades 6-12); InfoTrac Junior Edition (middle schools); Junior Reference Collection; Kids InfoBits (grades K-5); Professional Collection; and InfoTrac Student Edition (high schools).
JSTOR JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Contact the library for the username and password to this database.
Learning Express Library is an online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (mid 1960's) Library, Information Science and Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
North American Indian Thought and Culture: Alexander Street Press is a premier publisher of scholarly databases in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Contact the library for the username and password to this database.
ProQuest provides full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for k-12, college, and general users, including Barron's.
SIRS Discoverer has full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics.
SIRS Issues Researcher® is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
SD Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network Library Resources. Database available via WWW without restriction are: HighWire Press, Internet Imprint of the Stanford University Libraries (774 free online full-text journals); PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's; and PubMed Central (PMC), the National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Wiley Interscience. With subject areas in: Business, Economics, Finance and Accounting; Chemistry; Earth and Environmental Science; Education; Engineering; Humanities and Social Sciences; Information Science and Computing; Law and Criminology; Life Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics; Medical, Veterinary and Health Sciences; Physics and Astronomy; Polymers and Materials Science; and, Psychology.
The World Book Encyclopedia Collection includes the World Book Foreign Language Edition; French and Spanish translations of the World Book Discovery Encyclopedia; the World Book Public Library Edition; and the World Book School Edition.
WorldCat & More FirstSearch indexes is a catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries worldwide, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries.