Skip to main content

Woksape Tipi Library

Finding Aids/Collection Summaries

Pacifica Radio Archives This is a digital collection provided to us in partnership with Pacifica Radio Archives.The collection contains civil rights era and American Indian Movement era recordings. We have over two hundred hours of interviews available for access. Users are required to complete a copy user agreement and cite use and credit to Pacifica Radio Archives and Oglala Lakota College. The index to the collection can be found below.

C. Ronald Corum Collection The collection contains audio cassette recordings, indices for recordings, photographic slides, journal articles and clippings by C. Ronald Corum related to his research on the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Indian Reservations in South Dakota (1973-1975) and about the artist Frederick Weygold.  The collection also includes audio cassette recordings of Lakota language and culture instruction from linguist Dr. David Maurer to Corum as well as Maurer’s Lakota language notes given to him by Frederick Weygold. Oglala Lakota College, in partnership with the University of Louisville, maintains the digital versions of the photographic slides and audio recordings. This material is currently restricted to family members who were subjects of photographs and recordings at this time; however, the Lakota language instructional audio files are available for research use. Click corresponding PDF file below.

Hazel McGaa Cuney Collection The manuscript component of the collection contains the written and typed notes of Hazel McGaa Cuney. These include accounts of the Wounded Knee Massacre, the family histories of Cuny Table, and accounts of the effects of the Badlands Bombing Range. There are extensive collections and notes of family histories and genealogies. The ranch business component includes the family ranch business and includes a brand book, ledgers, and related documents. The photograph and slide collection includes copies of photographs from other institutions as well as copies and original prints of family photos spanning several generations. These materials are arranged in series I and IV. Additionally, an extensive artifact collection is currently on loan to us and is available for research use. Click corresponding for PDF file (finding aid) below.
Jeanne Smith Collection
Research materials—including manuscripts, publications, interviews on cassettes and transcriptions—gathered, indexed and donated by Jeanne Smith under a grant from the South Dakota Humanities Council. Groups 1 and 2 are the bulk of the Collection, and focus on family and community histories of the Pine Ridge Reservation, especially white men who married full-blood Lakota women. All subjects in the Collection are related to the Pine Ridge Reservation and the Lakota people, history, genealogy (white/Indians inter-marrying), and government. Almost all of the materials are copied from other archives located in the region: (1) The American Indian Research Project, University of South Dakota, Vermillion; (2) Ft. Laramie Archives, Ft. Laramie, Wyoming; (3) Museum of the Fur Trade, Chadron, Nebraska; (4) Ft Robinson Collection, Nebraska State Historical Society, Lincoln, Nebraska; (5) Mari Sandoz Collection, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; (6) JR Walker Papers, Colorado Historical Society; (7) Western History/Genealogy Department, Denver Public Library. An Index Guide was created for Groups 1 and 2 by Jeanne Smith, which often includes subject, names mentioned, and source of each file. Click corresponding for PDF file (finding aid) below.

Joe Jackson Collection Research materials donated by author Joe Jackson for Black Elk: The Life of an American Visionary. Collection is currently being processed.

Pacifica Radio Archives This is a digital collection provided to us in partnership with Pacifica Radio Archives.The collection contains civil rights era and American Indian Movement era recordings. We have over two hundred hours of interviews available for access. Users are required to complete a copy user agreement and cite use and credit to Pacifica Radio Archives and Oglala Lakota College. The index to the collection can be found below.

Rex Allan Smith Collection Research materials donated by Rex Allan Smith specific to his research and notes for the book Moon of Popping Trees. Click corresponding for PDF file (finding aid) below.

Richmond Clow Collection Research materials donated by Richmond Clow, University of Montana, History Professor. Extensive historical documents include Forced Fee Patents on Pine Ridge Reservation and United States vs. Sioux Indians Court of Claims, and early OIA documents that reflect early versions of the IRA consitutions of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe and the Oglala Sioux Tribe. Collection is currently being processed.

Stew Magnuson Collection Research materials donated by author Stew Magnuson for The Death of Raymond Yellow Thunder. The collection includes audio cassette interviews for the book and interviews recorded during the White Clay, NE protest to ban the sale of alcohol in 2005. Collection is currently being processed.

 

Oglala Lakota College Woksape Tipi Library Physical Address: 3 Mile Creek Rd Kyle, SD 57752 Mailing Address: PO Box 310 Kyle, SD 57752 Phone: 1-(605)-455-6069