Skip to main content

Woksape Tipi Library

Databases

SOUTH DAKOTA STATE LIBRARY

At Home Access:

1) Click on link above 

2) Click on Services tab at the top of the page 

3) Scroll down and click South Dakota Share-It

GENEALOGY AND VETERAN INFORMATION

HERITAGEQUEST
Research family and local history; it includes census, military, and gravestone records with over 25,000 family and local history books; accessible from home through the SD State Library portal with your OLC library card.
ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION
Research family and local history with access to thousands of collections from around the world, with immigration, military, birth, death, census records; store your family tree info through individual account
Access: Inside Library Only
FOLD3
Genealogy information focusing upon US military records by war; accessible from home through the SD Library portal.

ALL ACADEMIC SUBJECTS

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER

Market and company profile database.

CHILTON LIBRARY
Vehicle repair and diagrams; ASE test prep.
DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICA

Discover 36,687,547 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States across all subjects.

EBSCO
Multiple databases covering all subjects, including ERIC; extensive selection of e-books.
GALE E-BOOKS

Full-text subject and reference books.

JSTOR
JSTOR covers all subjects with an emphasis in business, math and science, history, and humanities. American Indian Quarterly, Oral History Review, Studies in American Indian Literature, Western History Quarterly, Wicazo Sa  are some of the titles specific to Lakota Studies.

LEARNING EXPRESS

Practice tests for ACT, SAT, GED, Praxis and many more! Also check out the subject tutorials for K-12 and post high school. Create your own account to track your progress and practice exam scores.

POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER
Create persuasive arguments and essays, understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills; this is an excellent source for subject brainstorming.
PROQUEST 
Multiple subject research library for business, health and medicine, history, literature and language, science and technology, social sciences, and the arts.

NURSING 

CINAHL Full-text Nursing Journals

HEALTH SOURCE

Nursing/academic articles and journals.

SOCIAL WORK

SocINDEX Full-Text Social Work Journals

JOURNAL OF STUDIES ON ALCOHOL AND DRUGS

This multidisciplinary journal publishes research on all aspects of the use of, abuse of, and dependence on alcohol, illicit substances, and inhalants; tobacco use and dependence; and the misuse of prescription medication. The range of topics includes, but is not limited to, the biological, medical, epidemiological, psychiatric, social, psychological, legal, public health, socioeconomic, genetic, and neuroscientific aspects of substance use.

LAKOTA STUDIES AND HUMANITIES

AMERICAN INDIAN EXPERIENCE  
Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of North America.
AMERICAN INDIAN HISTORIES AND CULTURES
Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Unique source material from the Newberry Library. Collections include several types of primary sources through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Check out the Indian Newspapers database within this link!
ARCHIVES UNBOUND: OVERLAND JOURNEYS, TRAVELS IN THE WEST 1800-1880
A critical bibliography of trails, exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West.
DIGITAL LIBRARY OF SOUTH DAKOTA
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota.
HATHI TRUST

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES
Political, social, and cultural history of North American Indigenous peoples from the 1500s-present.
NINETEENTH CENTURY US NEWSPAPERS
Full-text searchable newspaper images of selected newspapers.

MATH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

NATURE ARTICLE SEARCH

SCIENCE DIRECT

(USD's BRIN) Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network 

We can order any journal article you need through our partnership with USD! Click and scroll to the bottom of the page, then click Journals A-Z, and type in one word from the journal you're looking for to find what database it is in, contact us to order your articles!

 

Oglala Lakota College Woksape Tipi Library Physical Address: 3 Mile Creek Rd Kyle, SD 57752 Mailing Address: PO Box 310 Kyle, SD 57752 Phone: 1-(605)-455-6069