Skip to main content

Woksape Tipi Library

Tribal Histories

RESOURCES AT WOKSAPE TIPI

AMERICAN INDIAN EXPERIENCE  
Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of North America.
AMERICAN INDIAN HISTORIES AND CULTURES
Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Unique source material from the Newberry Library. Collections include several types of primary sources through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Check out the Indian Newspapers database within this link!
ARCHIVES UNBOUND: OVERLAND JOURNEYS, TRAVELS IN THE WEST 1800-1880
A critical bibliography of trails, exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West.
DIGITAL LIBRARY OF SOUTH DAKOTA
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota.
HATHI TRUST

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES
Political, social, and cultural history of North American Indigenous peoples from the 1500s-present.

BEYOND WOKSAPE TIPI

AFTER COLUMBUS: FOUR HUNDRED YEARS OF NATIVE AMERICAN PORTRAITURE Images from the New York Public Library Digital Collections

CARLISLE INDIAN SCHOOL DIGITAL RESOURCE CENTER Student records from 1879-1918; includes photographs, ledgers, newspapers, and student writing

CENTER FOR AMERICAN INDIAN RESEARCH AND NATIVE STUDIES Locally based research center advancing the knowledge and understanding of American Indian communities

INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA Denver Public Library Western History/Genealogy Digital Collections 
NATIONAL NATIVE AMERICAN BOARDING SCHOOL HEALING COALITION Check out their Resource Database
WOLAKOTA PROJECT Dozens of resources specific to Oceti Sakowin curriculum and research

LAKOTA & DAKOTA ART

COSTUMES OF THE PLAINS INDIANS Also by Clark Wissler, 1916

CURRENT/UPCOMING EXHIBITS @IAIA Check out the past BFA exhibition featuring Lakota students

HORSE NATION EXHIBIT 80+ works by artists of the Oceti Sakowin interpreting the historical and cultural connection with the horse
PLAINS INDIAN LEDGER ART Contains scans of 31+ complete ledgers by Northern Plains artists 1860s to early 1900s   

SIOUX BEADWORK Originally published by the Department of Interior at Haskell Institute, 1933

SOME PROTECTIVE DESIGNS OF THE DAKOTA Originally published by Clark Wissler, 1907

UNBOUND: NARRATIVE ART OF THE PLAINS National Museum of the American Indian
WIYOPIYATA: LAKOTA IMAGES OF THE CONTESTED WEST Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology

 

American Indian Literature

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE RESOURCES

AMERICAN INDIANS IN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE Excellent resource for critical reviews of children's literature and related news by Debbie Reese

YOUTH LITERATURE AWARD American Indian Library Association's biannual selection of outstanding indigenous authorship

CHILDREN'S AND YOUNG ADULT TITLES Native authors and illustrators highlighted in Cynthia Leitich Smith's blog

DON MONTILEAUX Oglala artist and author

OYATE recommended for reviews of and ordering recommended American Indian children's titles

S. D. NELSON Hunkpapa artist and author 

COLLEGE AND BEYOND

EARLY NATIVE AMERICAN LITERATURE Extensive digitized collection of early American Indian authors (1772-1923) 

THE FIRST SCOUT: MYSTIC WARRIORS OF THE GREAT PLAINS Lakota-authored history blog with excellent winter count information
TRIBAL WRITERS DIGITAL LIBRARY Works of Native poets and writers of fiction featuring out of print literary efforts of Native people
Oglala Lakota College Woksape Tipi Library Physical Address: 3 Mile Creek Rd Kyle, SD 57752 Mailing Address: PO Box 310 Kyle, SD 57752 Phone: 1-(605)-455-6069