Skip to main content
site header image

Woksape Tipi - Academic/Public Library and Archives: SCIENCE, TECH & MEDICINE

ACADEMIC MEDICAL DATABASES

WOKSAPE TIPI DATABASES

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

MedlinePLUS This resource is designed to assist the public in locating “appropriate, authoritative health information sources.”

PubMed (1964+) Search 11 million abstracts/citations from 4,000+ peer-reviewed medical sciences and other health-related journals published worldwide. There are no limits to access.

South Dakota BRIN Electronic resources provided in partnership with the Lommen Health Sciences Library at the University of South Dakota.

BEYOND WOKSAPE TIPI

U.S. National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. It is the home of MedlinePLUS, PubMed, and several other free online databases.

AMERICAN INDIAN HEALTH

No Library Card Required

American Indian Health (US National Library of Medicine) An information portal to information affecting the health and well-being of American Indians.

Indian Health Service “Our Mission... to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level.”

Minority Health Racial Ethnic Group Resources A portal page to federal, state, and tribal resources for Native Americans.

Native American Health and Family Resources A page in the usa.gov website with links to federal health programs.

Native-American Health at MedLinePlus On this page, you'll find links to health issues that affect Native-Americans.

Native American Health Issues Multicultural Health Clearinghouse. Provides a list of health resources for Native American health concerns.

Wellsphere Native American Medical Wellsphere's network of writers and bloggers includes almost 1,500 of the leading medical minds from Stanford, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Yale and other top Medical Schools, as well as patients facing difficult diseases who bravely share their stories of survival.

SCIENCE

BEYOND WOKSAPE TIPI

Accessible from Your Home and Your Local Library (with a valid library card number)

AGRICOLA (1970+) National Agricultural Library indexes journals and other publications on all aspects of agriculture, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, extension education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences

Energy Citations (1948+) Provides indexing to energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies.

Highwire Press The largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with more than 750,000 free, full-text articles online.

Bison Science

Accessible from home with your library card number/password.

This guide is a compilation of reviewed and useful Internet information on the bison. Oglala Lakota College Library offers this resource in participation with the Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC).

Associations: National Bison Association, Western Bison Association (WBA), Mammal Research Institute's Bison Network (Europe), the Bison Specialist Group - Europe, and the Canadian Bison Association There are many other local associations within the U.S., Canada, and Europe but these are the largest organizations.

Following are links to various websites which provide general information about bison: Wild Bison Reference Project, Wind Cave National Park Bison Bibliography, Wikipedia's American Bison,Tatanka: Story of the BisonAnimal Planet's Bison page, and National Geographic's American Bison.

For more information contact Leslie Henry.