Skip to main content
site header image

Woksape Tipi - Academic/Public Library and Archives: ARTS & HUMANITIES

ARTS & HUMANITIES

INDIGENOUS ARTS & CULTURE

LAKOTA & DAKOTA ART

Sioux Beadwork Originally published by the Department of Interior at Haskell Institute, 1933

Some Protective Designs of the Dakota Originally published by Clark Wissler, 1907

Costumes of the Plains Indians Also by Clark Wissler, 1916

Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies   Check out their online Great Race Exhibit here as well as the schedule for second round of receptions at the Journey Museum in May-June

Current & Upcoming Exhibitions @IAIA Check out the past BFA exhibition featuring Lakota students

Horse Nation Exhibition 80+ works by artists of the Oceti Sakowin interpreting the historical and cultural connection with the horse

Lakota Wintercounts: An Online Exhibit Smithsonian Museum of Natural History  

Native Fashion Now  Peabody Essex Museum                   

Plains Indian Ledger Art Contains scans of 31+ complete ledgers by Northern Plains artists 1860s to early 1900s.

Unbound: Narrative Art of the Plains National Museum of the American Indian

Wiyopiyata: Lakota Images of the Contested West Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology

DATABASES THAT INCLUDE AMERICAN INDIAN ART

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture Continually developing new online exhibitions of American Indian material culture and arts

Archive Grid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide

CAMIO contains fine art and decorative art from pre-history through contemporary works. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, Web projects and other assignments