Skip to main content
site header image

Woksape Tipi - Academic/Public Library and Archives: AMERICAN INDIAN RESOURCES


Our Stories

American Indian Higher Education Consortium Now 37 tribal colleges strong

American Indian Report  American Indian Report News Blog

American Native Press Archives Tribal Writers Digital Library Sequoyah Research Center, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Indian Country Today Media Network Serving the Nations/Celebrating the People American Indian news aggregate and reporting source

KILI RADIO The voice of the Lakota Nation!

NATIVE AMERICA CALLING  Your National Electronic Talking Circle - Currently airing on KILI at 11am, Monday-Friday

Native American Writers Early Native American Literature (18th & 19th centuries)

NATIVE NEWS ONLINE.NET Celebrating Native Voices

Native Sun News American Indian reporting from Rapid City, SD  Archives available on campus only 2015-

NATIVE TIMES News from the crossroads of Indian Country

Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education Check out the annual TCJ Student Writers Competition

VISION MAKER MEDIA Native Stories for Public Broadcasting

Wordcraft Circle Native writers and storytellers collective


Tribal Histories



American Indian Experience   Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contact the library for the username and password to this database.  

North American Indian Thought & Culture   Contact the library for the username and password to this database.  Publisher of scholarly databases in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

American Indian Histories and Cultures Our newest database showcasing unique source material from the Newberry Library. 

Native Daughters Collection of stories, profiles, and multimedia projects about American Indian Women from the University of Nebraska. No login required.

Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) Project MUSE provides full access to this journal published by University of Nebraska Press (2004-Present)

Carlisle Indian School Online Resource Center Fully searchable database of all students who attended Carlisle Indian School



WOLAKOTA PROJECT Oceti Sakowin Resources

Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies (CAIRNS)


After Columbus: Four-hundred Years of Native American Portraiture The New York Public Library

American Memory Project Library of Congress 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School History Library of Congress

Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies   Check out their online Great Race Exhibit here as well as the schedule for second round of receptions at the Journey Museum in May-June

Current & Upcoming Exhibitions @IAIA Check out the past BFA exhibition featuring Lakota students

Edward S. Curtis North American Indian Digital Book Northwestern University

History of the American West Denver Public Library

Horse Nation Exhibition 80+ works by artists of the Oceti Sakowin interpreting the historical and cultural connection with the horse 

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture Continually developing new online exhibitions of American Indian material culture and arts             

Photographs of the American West: 1861-1912 Library of Congress

Unbound: Narrative Art of the Plains National Museum of the American Indian

Wiyopiyata: Lakota Images of the Contested West Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology


Their Stories

War-path and bivouac : or, The conquest of the Sioux : a narrative of stirring personal experiences and adventures in the Big Horn and Yellowstone expedition of 1876, and in the campaign on the British border, in 1879 University of Wisconsin Digital Collections

Welch Dakota Papers Extensive collection of oral history, notes, and transcriptions of Col. A.B. Welch as "the first white man adopted by the Sioux Nation."