Skip to main content
site header image

Woksape Tipi - Academic/Public Library and Archives: DATABASES

SOUTH DAKOTA LIBRARY DATABASES

NEW RESOURCES!

CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION 
Use your OLC email account for access

Journal of Studies in Alcohol and Drugs

JSTOR JSTOR includes American Indian Quarterly, Oral History Review, Studies in American Indian Literature, Western History Quarterly, Wicazo Sa

***************************************************************

EBSCO Requires Unique Username & Password-please call 605-455-6069

EBSCO    Research Databases- Academic Search Premier; e-books; MegaFILE

CINAHL Full Text Nursing Journals 

SocINDEX Full Text Social Work Journals

LEARNING EXPRESS  ACT, SAT, GED, Praxis and many other prep exams for a variety of professions. Create your own username & password

CHILTON LIBRARY Vehicle Maintenance & Repairs

POINTS OF VIEW   Create persuasive arguments and essays, understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. Home access through Share-IT with your library card 

PROQUEST  Research Library Note: Home access through Share-IT with your library card

***************************************************************

ACCESS ADDITIONAL SOUTH DAKOTA LIBRARY DATABASES FROM HOME THROUGH South Dakota Share IT

Log in from upper right corner and select OLC, then enter your library card number and your password (last name). CLICK ON THE BARREL TO SEARCH BOOKS OR DATABASES.

POINTS OF VIEW  Home access through Share-IT with your library card

PROQUEST Research Library Home access through Share-IT with your library card

Tip: Use a Federated Search: this means that one request will search all libraries and databases associated with the South Dakota State Library.

***************************************************************

Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (USD BRIN) Click and scroll to the bottom of the page, then click Journals A-Z, and type in one word from the journal you're looking for to find what database it is in

NATURE ARTICLE SEARCH

Elsevier's SCIENCE DIRECT

WILEY ARTICLE SEARCH

***************************************************************

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Our newest database showcasing unique source material from the Newberry Library. Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

American Indian Experience   

Contact the library for the username and password to this database. Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contact the library for the username and password to this database. 

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Contact the library for the username and password to this database.  Publisher of scholarly databases in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.Over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

GENEALOGY DATABASES

ANCESTRY Library Edition contains the U.S. Census of Indian Reservations from 1886-1937. Also Included are U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930, immigration records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, the family history library and more. This resource is only available at Woksape Tipi and your district college center library.

HERITAGE QUEST Now contains the U.S. Indian Census Schedules that you can access from home with your library card! for those researching local history and family histories. It includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930; 25,000+ family and local history books; the PERiodical Source Index/PERSIT (a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy & local history periodicals); and Revolutionary War Pension & Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.